The Institute

The Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia was constituted by Royal Charter in 1928. It operates under a Supplemental Royal Charter granted by the Governor-General on behalf of Queen Elizabeth II on 22 August 2007.

The Institute is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of seven members elected by Chartered Accountants on regional registers, and up to four Board appointed members. The Directors and Regional Councillors are elected for a three-year term. A third of the positions held on the Board and Regional Councils are up for election each year. The President and Deputy President are elected annually by the Board.

New Institute updates


    Find out more about the proposed new trans-Tasman member body.

See all

The Institute worldwide

Read more

Migration assessment

How to apply

Meeting facilities

More information