Accredited Tertiary Courses

Accredited Tertiary Course Lists

Each year Chartered Accountants ANZ assesses Australian tertiary institutions and their courses. Those that satisfy the academic requirements for entry into the Chartered Accountants Program are added to the accredited tertiary lists.

These lists include programs which meet the academic entry requirements for Chartered Accountants ANZ.

Required Competence Areas 2016

From 1st January 2016, the Compulsory Topics have been re-structured and updated to the current Required Competence Areas as set out in the 2016 Accredited Tertiary list. These areas have aligned across Australia and New Zealand, and will be required for candidates enrolling in their degree in 2016.

  • Accounting Systems & Processes
  • Financial Accounting & Reporting
  • Audit & Assurance
  • Business Law
  • Economics
  • Finance & Financial Management
  • Management Accounting
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Taxation
  • Information Technology
  • Ethics

How to use the Accredited Tertiary Course Listings

To find out which subjects and codes are needed to meet our competence area requirements, you should:

  1. Select the schedule from the first year that you started your course.
  2. Locate the accredited tertiary institution provider of your course of study.
  3. Choose the level of your qualification from the schedule i.e. Bachelor / Masters.
  4. Check your subject codes and subject names of the course as listed against the required competence areas in the schedule.

Accredited Tertiary Courses 2016 (New Competence Areas Active from January 2016)

Accredited Tertiary Courses pre-2016

If you started your degree in 2015 or earlier, you should follow the old Core Knowledge Area paper requirements as listed in the old ATC lists:

Standard Assessment of Domestic Qualifications

If you have completed an Australian or New Zealand qualification we encourage you to complete a self-assessment using our Accredited Tertiary Course (ATC) Lists. Once you have completed your self-assessment and believe you have attained all of the required competence areas you should apply for Provisional Membership.

Once you complete your self-assessment, if you believe you have study to complete, you can use the ATC Lists to guide you in what subjects to enrol in. If you would like us to confirm what study is required you can apply for a Standard Assessment.

If you have commenced Australian or New Zealand study we encourage you to complete a self-assessment using our ATC Lists. Once a self-assessment has been completed, if you still require a formal assessment you may apply for a Standard Assessment.

Please note: If you are applying for an AT or ACA assessment you will not be charged a Standard Assessment application fee. However, you will be charged a provisional membership fee when you apply.

Standard Assessment of Overseas Qualifications

If you hold an overseas qualification and you would like the subject/s you have completed considered towards the required competence areas for the CA, ACA or AT pathway you should apply for a Standard Assessment.

Standard Assessment - Qualification confirmation only

If you hold an overseas qualification and want to know if it is considered by CA ANZ to be equivalent to an Australian or New Zealand qualification before applying to have a full assessment completed you will need to complete the Standard Assessment Form.

All Standard Assessment application fees are non-refundable.

Apply for a Standard Assessment.

What’s Next?
Once your application for overseas studies has been assessed, you will receive a Letter of Assessment which will detail any required competence areas you have met and which competence subjects you need to complete before applying for
Provisional Membership.

Where all competence areas have been met, you will be invited to apply for Provisional Membership. Further information can be found on our Overseas Qualifications Entry Pathway page.

Article last updated 28 November 2016